The Council has a tripartite structure, which means that it is comprised of three lists of Arbitrators nominated in equal proportions by each of the three stakeholder groups: unions, employer associations and the Ministry in charge of Labour.

Each case which is referred to the Arbitration Council is heard by a panel of three arbitrators, two of whom are selected by the parties themselves. The third arbitrator from the Ministry list is chosen by the two arbitrators who were selected by the parties (the Chair).